Newbie from New York, New York (NYC)

23 Replies

Hi Everyone!

My name is Alex Poh.  I'm a 31 year old jewelry designer and fabricator living in NYC.

I have no experience in real estate aside from riding shotgun when I was a kid with my mom during her open houses and property showings.  My mother was a residential and commercial agent and broker in NY and NJ during the mid 90s.  She still has her brokerage license, so I plan on getting a real estate agent license to reduce costs on closing deals in the future and to get a stronger background in real estate.

My short term real estate goals are:

- Get my real estate license in the next three months

- Purchase my first investment in the next year. I am looking to use an FHA Loan to purchase a multi family home in an outer borough of NY to house hack. I aim to make enough income from the property to cover my living costs or greatly reduce them.

My medium term goals are:

- Stack my first multi family home into more units.  

- Generate $5k in monthly income within the 5 years.

My ultimate goal is to create a portfolio of cash flow positive real estate investments to:

- Help my father retire so that he can travel with my mother, enjoy life, and discover new hobbies and passions.

- Allow me to make jewelry because it's my passion, not my passion that pays the bills

- Free up my time to pursue travel and my interest in martial arts.  Live in Brazil and Thailand for several months to train Brazilian Jiu Jitsu and Thai kickboxing

- Learn how to invest and make money consistently so that I can partner with friends and family to help them build wealth as well

I found out about the biggerpockets community through their podcasts and the AudiboBook on Rental Property Investing.  I love the mentality and culture of the community.  I have been listening to the podcasts everyday while I sit on my bench making jewelry. 

I look forward to learning from all of you and to achieving all my goals and more!

@Alex Poh