New investor from Tulsa, Oklahoma

11 Replies

Hey everyone! My name is Roman Johnson. I'm 28, married with a 2yo and I'm brand new to real estate investing. For my day job I own/operate a video production/marketing company in Tulsa, Oklahoma. 

I had been very hesitant to try real estate investing due to the usual misconceptions (not enough money, lack of handyman skills etc). When I won a sizable cash prize from a video contest I had to decide what to do with it. I'm all about the F.I.R.E. movement and was pretty close to dumping it into index funds/retirement accounts but something told me to hold on. I just couldn't bring myself to just throw it into some unknown thing that was out of my control/hustle. 

Enter the BP podcast. It opened my eyes to the options I have available not only using my money but using leverage as well! I'm devouring every resource I can right now and am very excited to take action. 

I'm currently most interested in BRRR strategy with single/multi-family homes. Looking to make connections with agents, brokers, and other investors! If you're in the Tulsa area let's grab a coffee!

My goal is to have my first single family by November of this year. Any words of wisdom you would have for someone like me looking to move fast and get started?

The best is ahead! LET'S GO!

Hi Roman! You are in the right place to find info and advice about RE investing. Lots of people willing to share their successes and failures! I have mostly lurked on here, occasionally reply to people if I have any direct knowledge, but learn lots just reading. What is your situation now? Are you renting or do you own a home now? House hacking is an option for getting into RE, if you rent. I wish I had known about it when I bought my first house! Sounds like you are in a good place to jump into investing.