Votes
Alex Evans
Pro Member
Votes |
24 Years Old, Ready to Quit Job and Get Started

Alex Evans
Pro Member
Posted Aug 24 2018, 20:58

Hey BP Community - My name is Alex and I'm a recent college grad (24 y/o) ready to make the leap from my job to learn how to generate passive income through real estate. Wanted to run my plan through here for any tips, suggestions or feedback.

I'm a recent college grad and have been working as a Digital Marketer for roughly 2 years now. I like what I'm doing but I hate sitting at a desk 9-6 Monday thru Friday for a fixed salary. I would much rather be building wealth via my own small agency and real estate. I've saved up a good amount of money in my very short career but I've also recently been willed a large sum of money from a very generous grandparent who recently passed (RIP Gpa). His instructions were that the money was not to be touched unless used towards a tuition or as an investment in real estate or a business. All in I've got about $150k to start putting to use.

My plan is to take my job remote (or quit if not successful) and move back home. I would live with my parents for a couple of months while I dive deep into learning real estate. Looking for some advice on where to start with the learning about real estate and my specific market in the suburbs of Philadelphia. My goal is to househack a 4-plex within 6 months of my remote/quit date. I also have a former mentor in the area that works on 4 to 20 door student housing deals. I plan to re-kindle this relationship and work on deals for free for him as I know he has a lot of capital from a very successful exit earlier in his career.