Rookie from Ann Arbor, Michigan

12 Replies

Hi everyone!! 

I am a student studying accounting at Eastern Michigan University. In addition to being a student I work as a Project Accounting Coordinator at an engineering firm in Plymouth. I have been reading/listening to books and podcasts for a while now and recently heard about bigger pockets and the investing resources it provides. My motivation is to use real estate as a vehicle for reclaiming my time and to stop trading my time for money as well as to support my love of travel. I am most interested in investing in multi-family and single family rental units but I've recently begun looking into other parts of real estate to build up capital. I am excited to start building a network of connections on bigger pockets and put what I learn to use in order to achieve my goals and aspirations and eventually help others to do the same. 

Thank you for reading!

David,

Sounds like a great plan to me.  You should listen to a like minded investor who implemented your plan 10-15 years ago; Bigger Pockets Podcast Aug 23, 2018 with Chad Carson.

Good Luck!

Chris

Welcome to BP @David Oginsky ! It's great that you have been doing a lot of leg work and also, while you're a student! What markets have you looked into to start investing? You mentioned other parts of real estate to build capital - what are you considering? 

Welcome to BP @David Oginsky ! I suggest searching in the BP podcasts for the area of REI you are interested in.

There are also a few REI meet ups in the surrounding AA area. Send me a message if you want to know more about them or check the BP Event tab.

Good luck in your journey!

Welcome David,

Your on the right track.  House hacking and buying a fixer upper is a great way to get started if you don't have a lot of capital.  You can even do a live in flip.  Just throwing out some ideas.

Good Luck to you.

Originally posted by @Dan Barli :