Wholesaling.......is it really worth the hype?

4 Replies

Hello all,

I'm a beginner in the real estate investment world (Houston TX) and I'm at a road block with the countless amount of information or (misinformation) for a lack of a better word; on wholesaling. There is a plethora of information circulated around the internet and I am getting a little discouraged, and the saddest part is.... I haven't even started! My background is in predevelopment, I have over 8+ years experience in permitting (residential), surveying (platting),  some commercial real estate, marketing and I'm also a real estate photographer, so I'm very knowledgable in those areas and wear many hats, but I'm clueless when it comes to the areas that follow after development. After listening to about 30 hours of multiple podcasts, tons of youtube videos, skimming through facebook groups (which btw; half these people in these groups can barely structure a sentence and are full of online drama), calling these "guarantee you 5+ deals a day programs" and after hearing they require a payment of $5,500 for information I can get for free online, I am a little weary and I'm wondering if this is as easy as 80% of people who are doing it are claiming it be ? I'm a single mom, working a full time job and side hustling as a photographer (real estate and portraits) and I'm really motivated but I don't have time or money to get steered in the wrong direction. Is it all trial and error? Does anyone have any advice for a novice like me? Is wholesaling really all that its  cracked up to be?

@Alicia Ramos Do not pay for a coach when you can get free advice from the BP community. JMO.

As for wholesaling. I have never done it, but as a buy and hold investor I always laugh when these wholesalers reach out to me with their "deals." They are never what I consider good deals as I can go and make an all cash purchase for below what the wholesaler even gets it for.