Newbie from Seattle, WA

18 Replies

Hi All,

My name is Ayan. I am a Software Engineer from Seattle, WA looking to get into get into Real Estate Investing. I am interested in Buy and Hold long term rental properties in Midwest area. I have been listening to podcasts, watching webinars, and reading books and articles related to real estate investing for about 6 months now. After reading "Long-Distance Real Estate Investing by David Greene", I got the courage to invest out of state.

After comparing various markets in Midwest, I am now looking to invest in Indianapolis, IN. I am working on shortlisting B-class neighborhoods that are majorly owner occupied, good school districts, low crime / vacancy rate, positive population migration over the years, etc. Simultaneously I try to analyze 1-2 properties per day to get a feel for the type of returns that can be expected from a particular neighborhood. My goal is to acquire a Single Family or Duplex through BRRRR in the next 6 months.

I would really appreciate any feedback and would love to connect with you all.

Hi @Ayan C.

I live in Indianapolis and caught the real estate bug recently too. I've been aggressively reading/researching for the last two months. Currently, we are working on getting our finances ready so we can jump on a deal when we find one. We have one rental, but we just converted our first home into a rental. I'm not a veteran investor by any means, but I'm happy to help however I can.

Good luck!

Hi @Ayan C. you are right you can't find cashflow in primary markets.

As an engineer too your time is likely spent at your day job than trying to find rare deals. I bought one rental in in indy and think its a solid market. Just don't buy anything that rents for under 900 a month.

Welcome, Ayan! Sounds like you have a solid plan for your real estate investment journey. So glad you've already plugged into the Bigger Pockets podcast - that was a huge source of education for me when I first started.