24 y/o investor from Los Angeles; Any tips for starting out??

8 Replies

HELLO Everybody!

My name is Alex and I'm new to getting started out with Real Estate Investing, and I have to tell you, I'm flippin' excited. So many ways to go about this but I've been enjoying immersing myself with knowledge through podcasts, books, and the mistakes of others from meeting RE investors at REIA and meetup groups. I want to continue down this path even more so now that I've moved back to LA from Denver, Colorado and keep making friends of the REI space. I will own a rental property that cash flows $200 per month by EOY 2019. Books/audibles that have helped get the mindset and technicalities at this point are:

Long Distance Real Estate Investing by @David Greene

How to Win Friends and Influence People 

12 Rules to Life

Rich Dad Poor Dad 

Think and Grow Rich [GAME CHANGER]

Might I add that I was never much of a reader...?! I'd appreciate even more book recommendations and local LA REIA groups. I plan on attending the live auction held in Norwalk this week and the upcoming FIBI meeting in Pasadena next week. I'd love to see some of ya'll there!

I read around 40-50 books a year. Here's some additional books I recommend.

1. The Millionaire Next Door - teaches how to accumulate wealth
2. Who Moved My Cheese - teaches how to deal with changes
3. Tax Strategies for the Savvy REI - should be read before ever starting in the business
4. Asset Protection for REI - should be read before ever starting in the business
5. The Pre-Foreclosure Property Investor Kit - Great book for any level
6. Millionaire REI - Another great book
7. My Life & 1000 Houses - Great book on starting in the business, and adapting. 
8. The ART of Owner Financing - BEST strategy book I've read
9. NOTE Investing - Learn more about real estate notes

Good luck!!

Originally posted by @Jeff Filali :

I read around 40-50 books a year. Here's some additional books I recommend.