Millennial investor in Dallas, Texas

16 Replies

Hi all! 

I'm excited to be here and I hope to this becomes a community I grow to actively participate in and contribute to. For a bit of introduction, I am a mid-20 something living in Dallas, TX and I currently work as an investment consultant. Outside of my day job doing portfolio management I am also a bit of a personal finance nerd and am very active in managing my assets and constantly thinking about the best way to put them to work. 

Real Estate is not something that has been on my radar and I think a large part of the reason for that is that it has always either seemed 1) out of reach due to cost, or 2) too much of a commitment to a specific location is required (which is a turnoff to me as I like the idea of being able to switch jobs and move to a new city at any point). I am starting to realize that these two points might not be as true as I thought. 

I currently invest in the stock market and save a significant amount of money from working at my current job. I would like to look into how real estate could fit into my plans for wealth accumulation and if it is a feasible and reasonable option for me. As sort of an exotic aside, a friend of mine and I have been considering the possibility of investing in a rental property in Europe. We believe there are some very compelling reasons for why this is attractive but we do not know a ton about how an investment like that might work. 

Right now I am just trying to learn from the community here. 

@Trevor Rockhill . Welcome aboard, I lived in Dallas when I got started. Due to high taxes and insurance costs I would suggest you look elsewhere in TN (Memphis) or AR (Little Rock), both aren’t to far from you and will be cheaper and offer better returns. I would also suggest not buying in Europe as a first investment. You’ll likely lose money. Everything is so different if you do that.

Welcome to the community, Trevor!