Is it better to start REI when the market is cold, hot, or either

6 Replies

I'm a newbie and want to get into real estate investments. As of now, I want to start with either SFH or MFH. I hear statements all the time about WHEN to start REI. My question is does it matter when I enter the market being a newbie?

@Lamar Hickley

Doesn't really matter when you jump into the market.

When it's a buyer's market there are easy pickings, you'll have more competition from new investors, but it will be easier to make things happen. When it's a seller's market, you'll have to make the deals happen, but the deals are always there.

I'll explain a little:

There are three parts of the market.

1> Rehabed or newly built homes. There aren't many of these around per each town. Depends on investor activity. Buyers that don't want to fix anything when they move in love these, but that means a lot of buyer competition right now.

2> Homes that are solid but might need some updating. These are the most available. Families have been living in these for 10-20 plus years and need to move on. New home owners see these as an option if they don't mind a little updating at some point. 

3> Homes in physical or financial distressed. These are sometimes not very obvious. For the rehabber, this is where to find deals. These homes might not be obvious. They might look fine on the outside, or the roof and siding look rough. They come in all kinds of condition. The number of homes worth less than their mortgage is supposedly less than 4% in the country right now, but I still see a lot of distressed properties going to auction in just about every neighborhood. That means, even in a seller's market, there are potential deals to be had. It just might take a little work.

4> Rental market. Single family homes, duplexes, and 3-4 family, and apartment buildings. As long as rents are increasing due to a lack of development, rentals will always be needed.