Sell or Refinance current "House Hack"

7 Replies

Hi guys! My name is Dung and I'm new to the BP forum but I have been watching the podcasts daily for months. I have been obsessed with learning more about rental property for quite some time now. I am currently in a dilemma...well I don't know if I should call it that considering the outcome for either would be pretty great. Anyways, I am currently involved in a house hack kind of by accident. So I bought a condo for $265k and put in about $25k to really spruce the place up. Fortunately the condo has appreciated in value of $100k. So here comes my "dilemma". I was debating on whether or not to put it on the market or hold on to this property (because the area I bought the condo in is really going up in value) and refinance it and take the equity out to invest in another property. Any suggestions? 

Thanks a lot guys!

@Dung Nguyen that really depends on what you plan on doing. Would you try to rent the condo out or would you continue living there? If you did rent it, would it cashflow? What if you stayed there and used a HELOC to invest with while your condo continues to appreciate?

Thank you @Heath Ryans ! My original plan was to sell the place then use the money to buy a sfh (repeat the house hack) and still have enough money to get a rental property. But now seeing how much this condo has appreciated, plus it is in a really popular up and coming neighborhood. I am having second thoughts on selling it, and using the HELOC to invest in a rental property and still stay here while the condo continues to appreciate. And yes if I would rent it out it would have a positive cash flow. I have somewhat of an emotional tie to this place because is my first property and also it is in the neighborhood I grew up in.

Originally posted by @Heath Ryans :