As a first time investor with no money would you Rent or sell?

4 Replies

Hello, I am very new to all of this. Our goal is to gather some money up and in about 8-9 months look for an investment property. I wanted to get some opinions since for now my husband and I are still brainstorming and trying to educate ourselves, so the more information the better. My question is: As a first time investor would it be more profitable (in the short term) to buy, rehab and resell? Or rent it out? After our first property, our goal is to rent but unsure what we should do with the very first to turn in a quick profit that would help us financially to continue our journey. We live in the city of Philadelphia and we are not homeowners! The city is up and coming and with all this old properties in need of rehab the market is blooming so the opportunities are endless and the time to invest is now! This would be my husbands primary occupation after we start. So we would need to have some money to continue growing our portfolio.

Hello, @Anxhela Musta , wel come to BP!  Newbie investor here too trying to do about the same thing.

Currently, I am considering house-hacking so that I can save more each month towards other investments but I have considered a quicker house flip to gain some capital.  Research your market and find out what's going on in your area, talk to realtors, other landlords, friends, and see if you can find a need.  Are people wanting to buy and stay for the long term or are they renting more often?  What's the average price point (including taxes/holding costs/etc.) for buying/selling houses and what's the average monthly rent/lease in your area?

Check out the guides section on BP: https://www.biggerpockets.com/guides

I highly recommend reading

1. The Ultimate Beginner's Guide to Real Estate Investing
  2. How to Buy a Duplex: The Ultimate Step by Step Guide
  3. How to Flip Houses: The Ultimate Guide