New to the real estate investing scene - Jacksonville, FL

9 Replies

Greetings BP members! My name is Josh and I am new to the Jacksonville, FL real estate scene and excited to get started!

A little about me: I spent four years in the US Navy as an Aircraft Mechanic. I am currently a full-time student & employee (both in IT Security). I pride myself in being a problem solver, a critical thinker, and a pretty good handyman. I love restoring wooden furniture, building things, and any task that involves me grabbing my tools.

The current order of my goals are as follows:

-Research best loan/finance options for me.

-Start building relationships.

-Purchase rental home(s) (single family most likely) to start generating passive income.

-Long term goal: Have the ability to do ~2-4 fix & flips a year.

I look forward to connecting with people and please reach out if you know if you know of any good meetups I should check out in Jacksonville. I’d love to get a mentor that can help me get started and guide me along the way and one that hopefully I can help out as well. Thanks to everyone who contributes to BP and to Brandon and Josh for the podcasts. It has been an awesome resource for getting started in this field and I can’t wait to learn more!

@Joshua Nelson Welcome shipmate! I served 9 years in the Navy as well. A good meet up would be JAXREIA. They usually have good speakers and you can also build relationships with local investors.

Hi @Joshua Nelson ! Welcome to the BiggerPockets family! You came to the right place to learn all about real estate investing! Here are some recommendations for you:

Find and connect with other BP members that are in your area: http://www.biggerpockets.com/meet

Set up keyword alerts to be notified of the topics that interest you: http://www.biggerpockets.com/alerts

Read Beginner’s Guide: http://www.biggerpockets.com/real-estate-investing

Check out BP Podcasts: http://www.biggerpockets.com/renewsblog/category/podcast