Introduction, Newbie from Jersey City, NJ

22 Replies

Hello BP community, 

My name's Terence (Terry) Eng I'm a software engineer by day and I'm looking to join the ranks of the many successful BP members in this Real Estate game. I've stumbled upon BP about 7 months ago and started taking in all the basics and information that I can.

I started with the UBG, started listening to the podcasts (about 2/3 of them so far) and lurking on the forums searching for topics of interest that I wanted to focus on or information that I didn't know. Picked up a few books and read through, "Building Wealth One House at a Time" by John Shaub, "The Book on Investing in Real Estate with No (and Low) Money Down: Real Life Strategies for Investing in Real Estate Using Other People's Money," "The Book on Rental Property Investing: How to Create Wealth and Passive Income Through Intelligent Buy & Hold Real Estate Investing!," by Brandon Turner, "The Book on Estimating Rehab Costs: The Investor's Guide to Defining Your Renovation Plan, Building Your Budget, and Knowing Exactly How Much It All Costs" by J Scott and found them all so informational it has got me amped! I have also turned my girl friend on to REI, she joined BP as well and now we both are excited and trying to learn as much as we can.

Our strategy is to pursue some buy and hold rental properties within a range locally to Jersey City, Bayonne, Union City, Newark, Garfield, and with the prices and returns here we feel the multi-family (2-4 Units) realm would yield better than SFH properties. It's a little tough to find good value add deals with low entry points, but we're on the sites looking at potential listings, driving the areas getting to know the people and neighborhoods, and analyzing the numbers/scenarios to see what the COC and Cap Rates would be, while we line up the funding side. Of course we're new to this so some items like estimating rehab and rent rolls (using rentometer) could be off a bit.