Converting Rentals from my name to an LLC

1 Reply

Hey all,

I just created an LLC and I am about to 1031 a rental in Denver, CO (it'll be listed in a couple days). I want to purchase properties in eastern ID/western WY and put them under my newly formed LLC (the Denver title is under my legal name). I understand that due to the 1031, that I have to be the sole owner/organizer of the LLC.

-Now that I have my LLC entity name, ID no. and other business info, what do I do with it? Do I need to file it somewhere? Is it automatically filed?

-Since I won't have time to put the Denver prop under the LLC before it sales, what is the best method/process for moving the new investments to under the LLC?

-Any other problems/loopholes I should know about?

I'm new to BP and the RE investment game and welcome any advice you can offer.  

Thanks in advance, cheers!

-Riley 

@Riley Jordan ,  You'r 1031 QI may not have given you completely accurate information.  In order for your 1031 to be valid the taxpayer for the old property must be the same as the tax payer for the new property.  I use the word taxpayer specifically because the taxpayer may not necessarily be who is on deed.  The deed is a state issue not a federal one.  And since 1031 is a federal statute you need to look at what makes you the taxpayer from a federal perspective.

Since the way you communicate with the IRS is only through your tax returns, the taxpayer for a property under 1031 is actually the tax return that reports that activity of that property.  Your property in Denver is titled in your name I'm guessing that you report the rental activity on your personal 1040 schedule E.  So that tax return is actually the tax payer for the property.