Newbie in East Harford, Connecticut

4 Replies

Hi all!  I'm a mechanical engineer who also has gotten into real estate by getting my real estate license.  I never would have pursued getting my own real estate license if it weren't for a bad real estate agent experience I had a few years ago, but it all worked out in the end.  I am also an Air Force vet, and I am currently working on a master of science in Mechanical engineering.  In addition, I have started digging deep in the podcasts and gathering as much info as I can about investing.  My main investing interests right now are multi-family homes.  I look forward to talking shop and networking with other investors!

Promotion
Apartments.com
List, Screen, Lease, Get Paid, Manage.
No Better Place to Lease Your Place
Owners rely on the #1 rental site to get the best results from their rental properties.
Get Started Now

Do either of you have any advice on whether buying a home in an HOA is a good or bad idea with regards to possibly renting it out down the line? I have a house under contract, and the HOA documents don't explicitly deny it (at least from what I can understand with my extremely limited legal expertise).

Welcome @Dan Sartoris!  I'm active duty air force and also a mechanical engineer!  My wife and I own 24 apartments in the midwest, starting in 2017.  I'd be more than happy to chat about multifamily, see where you are interested in investing, and refer you to investor-friendly agents as desired.  I also just got my real estate license in Florida so if you are interested in short term rentals, I can help you with the Destin market.  But as a new investor, unless you are looking for a place you could vacation to as well, I'd recommend starting with a long term rental to get your feet wet.