401K for Real Estate Investing?

6 Replies

Hi BP mates!

I've been hearing a lot about a possible Recession and to be honest, I'm not that surprised, if you know everything negative that's happening in this country...thankfully, we still have some positive things going on.

I'm wondering if anyone else is debating what to do with their 401K. During the last recession (I was still too young to have a significant amount on my 401), but my father did lose a good chunk of his money. Due to this affecting our family, I am very cautious with what can happen with mine, now that I have a good amount saved up.

Does anyone recommend taking it out and investing in real estate? Yes, I will pay all penalties, but in my opinion, it might be less than what I would lose keeping it in stocks and bonds. I may be looking into investing on my second property, if possible...yes, I'm still a newbie! First property is actually my own home, which I rent out.

Keep it in there and pray nothing happens?

Transfer to a Bank Savings Account until the the panic stops?

Any other options out there?

Your opinion will help me tremendously and may help me understand the reason why we have a 401K anyway...instead of just investing every penny.