New to BP, Looking to expand rental property portfolio

7 Replies

Hi all, I'm new to BP, and currently have 2 rentals in my local area (Doylestown / Sellersville / Perkasie / Quakertown , Pennsylvania).  These towns are about 1 hour north of Philadelphia and 35 minutes south of the Lehigh Valley (Bethlehem / Allentown).  I'm looking to make any connections while also growing my real estate portfolio.  Couple quick questions...

1) Anyone in this general area... what are some of the best strategies for building your portfolio with limited capital? Success with BRRRR, seller financing, etc? I just used up a good chunk of my equity for my last rental purchase. I do not want to wait until I save up another $50K to buy another property.

2) Besides rentometer.com what other sources have people used to collect reliable rental income data?

Thanks,

Jimmy

Can't weigh in on the first question, but on the second, we usually look on all of the common rental websites (Trulia, Zillow, RedFin, Craigslist, FBook marketplace, etc.) to get a feel for rents in the area. Also, you would probably benefit from reaching out to a few large property managers in the area and asking for their opinion on rental rates for your class of asset.

Hi @Jonathan Emery , thanks for the reply.  I'd be very interested in hearing whatever you have found to work for creative financing options.  As I've soaked up a good amount of my capital in my first two rentals, I'm realizing that I'll need to get a little creative on financing my next deals (because I do not want to wait a couple more years to build up another large chunk of money, before acquiring another rental).  Looking forward to hearing from you.

Jimmy 

Hello @Jimmy Jefferson ,