Newbie from Long Island, NY

19 Replies

Hello Everybody,

My Name is Tommy Revithas and I am from Long Island, NY. I graduated from college in 2016 from State University of New York at Albany (SUNY Albany) with a double Bachelor's degree in Economics and Psychology. I have been working a full time job in the financial industry for about 2 years now. My interest in real estate came about after realizing that if I ever wanted a chance to get ahead and obtain financial freedom I would need to create passive income through cash flow. That's when I found BiggerPockets and have since been making my way through the podcast (currently up to episode 31) as well as taking steps such as reading the UBG (Ultimate Beginner's Guide) and books to get my hands on as much knowledge as I can when it comes to the world of real estate investing.

Being new to the industry means that there is so much to learn and lots of new adventures that lie ahead. I am super excited to get started and feel that introducing myself to the BP community is a big first step because meeting people and establishing relationships is so important in this industry. My ultimate goal is to invest using the buy and hold strategy to generate enough cash flow each month to cover my expenses, be financially free and live life on my own terms. Flipping houses and wholesaling are also a strategies I find to be very interesting. 

As for now, I am currently in the process of obtaining my Real Estate Agent License so I can get more hands on experience in this field. Being from Long Island NY, prices are known to be high and therefore, I would be looking to invest somewhere in the Tri-State area such as Connecticut, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, etc. where prices are generally more moderate.

Thank you for welcoming me into this awesome BP community and I'm looking forward to making some new connections as well as getting started with my real estate investing journey!

Sincerely,

Tommy Revithas