primary residential refinance

26 Replies

New to this community, looking forward to connect with ppl in MN or TX!

Question: bought my house in the cities for 280k, Zestimate shows 350k after four years, 15yr mortgage has 200k balance with 3% APR and high but manageable monthly payments. what do you suggest:

1. Do nothing, pay off mortgage in 11yrs

2. Refi (30yr sub 4% APR available), if so, what to do with the money next?

3. Sell and reinvest, in a bigger house to appreciate or rental properties.

Currently very busy with a great job and good salary. Never done REI but willing to learn gradually.

I appreciate detailed answers as I’m new to the terminology.

Thanks!

@Ali K.

UPDATE: add these options to the above:

4. Wait a couple more years to build more equity with the low APR mortgage and potential appreciation, then consider options 2 or 3.

5. Other options that I’m missing.

Thanks!

Either refinance to get some extra money or get a HELOC (what I'm doing), which is practically the same thing but with more flexibility. Then start investing with your favorite real estate investment method. I'm going to do BRRRR because I want to build a large portfolio of cash flowing rentals as quickly as possible and recycle the same capital over and over.

@David Ripplinger

thank you David for the answer. HELOC is actually something that I was missing. I indeed am leaning to option two but due to the low APR and my currently busy schedule option four sounds very appealing too. I think the market has a little more potential for growth unless it hits the end of the cycle soon. any thoughts on that?

@Jordan Moorhead

Thanks Jordan for the answer. The house is in a nice, safe, but affordable neighborhood. I’m not sure if it works well as rental, most people in my neighborhood afford to purchase a house. Potential for rental is actually something that I need to learn more about.