Excited to start my real estate journey

13 Replies

Hi BP community, 

Long term lurker and newbie here. After a couple years of analysis paralysis, I have finally decided to take the plunge and invest in at least 1 property before the end of 2020.

I found bigger pockets through Choose FI, a financial freedom podcast, and have been hooked after listening to my first episode.

For my first property, I would ideally like to invest in a multi family or single family in either Baltimore City or county.

The tenants I'm targeting are students and young professionals.

I have worked with several real estate agents, but they either do not seem to know a lot about investing, or do not have enough time to even accommodate me to my requested showings.

To the more experienced investors in the Baltimore area:

Can anybody make any recommendations for smaller real estate investor meetups for 50 or less people?

I'm excited to start this journey, and to continue learning about real estate investing!

Eugene

@Eugene Choe First off, welcome to BP.  You'll find the network here in maryland to be strong and extremely attentive to questions here in the forums.  

I remember the feeling of realtors not taking me seriously prior to doing my first deal.  Some tips that may help you:

1. Get pre-approved prior to engaging a realtor.  I feel like this is critical if you are trying to establish a new relationship with a realtor and show that you are serious.  Presenting this letter to a realtor speaks to your willingness take unprompted action on your own and will give the agent an idea of your budget