LLC before buying first Investment

19 Replies

Hey Folks. I am a newbie investor in the DC, MD and VA. Is it a best practice to open up a business as a LLC or whatever other entity before you start buying your 1st investment property to protect yourself financially?

Any tips is greatly appreciated!

All my investment properties are in my name. Easier (and better) in my opinion for financing. If you go LLC route, you'd need hard money or commercial financing.

@Melinda Harris You protect yourself by having home owners insurance, a well written lease, and renovating the property. I replacing old wiring, outlets, and leaking plumbing. The floating shelves in the kitchen don't hurt people. 

We speak to folks all the time who have created complex entity structures, often needlessly. We also speak to folks who have created tax saving structures.

There is no "one size fits all" when it comes to LLC formation advice. That being said, it pays to be cognizant of the tax, legal, and administrative implications of an LLC.

The best way to do that is to consult professionals. 

I'm no professional on the subject, but I'm surprised by most of the responses. It's really not very expensive to form and it adds just one more layer of protection. If something terrible happened and a tenant tried to sue you, it certainly wouldn't hurt to have the peace of mind that you can't be held personally liable. If you lost the lawsuit and the property is in your own name, the court could decide to seize your property and more. I know there can be tax benefits but that's not my expertise. In my entire loan portfolio, just about every investment property is held in an LLC. I'm smart enough to know that most of the investors I work with are much smarter than me, so if they all form real estate holding LLC's it certainly can't hurt. Maybe there are reasons not to form an LLC that I'm not aware of, but conventional wisdom tells me it's probably not a bad idea.