NEW INVESTOR TO BPs COMMUNITY

6 Replies

Create post

Hello BPs community,

My name is Randall Owens and I am new to the BPs community. I have been browsing through the bigger pockets chats and felt that it would be best if I reached out to you all for advice with future real estate investments. I am currently deployed in Afghanistan with the US Army and will not return home to Chicago until July 2020. However, since being here I am continuously reading and educating myself on investing in multi unit apartments. I was wondering if you all can give me some advice on the best tactics to purchasing 3-4 flat multi units with a good cash flow. I plan to house hack and hold onto these units long-term in the Chicagoland area.

@Randall Owens - First off thank you for giving up your time and serving in the military.

Sounds like you are on the right path and have a good plan.  I also house hacked here in Chicago, Bucktown neighborhood to be precise.  At this point, all you need to do is keep saving your money for your down payment and continue to learn/prepare.  Here a few good steps you can take while still overseas.

1.  Narrow your search down to a tight area and set your purchasing criteria

2.  Continue to research your area so you know exactly what houses are selling for.  (Maybe start talking to a realtor)

3.  Figure out your price range

4.  Start running deal analysis on all the properties that fit in your price range/criteria so when you are back you can recognize a good deal immediately.

5. Talk to a lender and determine down payment (also make sure you have reserves for construction and other issues that arise). Maybe get prequalified if possible.

6.  Set a goal of when you want to reach your downpayment goal + reserves.

Other than that I think you just need to keep doing what you are doing like networking, reading, listening, etc.  Best of luck and thank you again for your service!  When are you back stateside?