• New to Real Estate
  • Indiana
Votes |
New to Real estate in Indiana

Jim Land
  • New to Real Estate
  • Indiana
Posted Dec 2 2019, 06:44

Hello, as the title says I am new to this real estate thing.  Sort of...  Im 35, live in our second home.  Wife works corporate job, I'm self employed with a new business.  Think our goals are to move out of Indiana at some point.  The way we currently are going I don't see that happening unless I hit the lottery, which I don't play.   

Now on that sort of part.    I'll spell out the first house I "flipped".  2012, 1500sqft ranch near me came up, it was trashed, foreclosure.  It was listed, I met the realtor there, crawled all over the house(Been around construction my whole life), no inspection, it had good bones and a good foundation but needed stripped to the studs.  Asking $64k for it.  I offered $30K, and put a portfolio together with all that was wrong with it structurally.  (sagging floors, mold in the crawl, busted out window, roof ect).  The bank didn't even counter me.    Waited 3 weeks and they dropped it to $60K, I offered $30,001.   We went back and forth, purchased for $48K.   I cashed in a retirement I had(Im dumb) though didn't take a big hit because it went toward my first home.  

The first remodel got stripped to the studs.   Took out some walls, leveled floor and 3 new 60' long beams in the crawl, added master suite, still keeping it 3br 2 ba. Roof, electrical, plumbing, hvac, everything new. Did everything but the drywall myself. All in I had about $90K in the house including the purchase. I borrowed money from family for the refurb, after complete I pulled a heloc and paid them back, then got to paying down the line of credit.