Newbie from Hawaii - how delusional am I?

11 Replies

Aloha! I'm new to investing and am currently in the learning and preparing phase. I live in Hawaii where housing costs are very expensive, so I've been researching properties out of state (and even out of country). It's not ideal but it's necessary. 

I've been wanting to invest my money in real estate because it's less volatile and more tangible than the stock market. Currently my spouse and I are both working full time with a startup on the side. I'm a little concerned I won't be able to make any worthwhile returns in real estate unless I build up a portfolio large enough to be considered its own full time job. This concerns me because I don't want to leave my current career. Is it realistic to work full time and make a good return on real estate simultaneously?

I've been looking into single family rentals but am perhaps most interested in the commercial storage unit sector. But again...I'm intimidated by the idea of taking on a full time business in addition to my career. While I'm learning I'd like to save up some more so I can pay cash for my investments. I haven't found a lot of info about the cash strategy, but I abhor dealing with loans. 

I don't personally know any real estate investors so I'm grateful for such a large network of people like this and I look forward to being a part of it!

Originally posted by @Jessica Lynn :

Aloha! I'm new to investing and am currently in the learning and preparing phase. I live in Hawaii where housing costs are very expensive, so I've been researching properties out of state (and even out of country). It's not ideal but it's necessary.