New Member in Southeastern PA

1 Reply

Hey all! My name is Mike, I'm 31 and I live in Montgomery County, Pennsylvania. I bought my first income producing property in October of 2005. It's an owner-occupied (I live alone) two-family, and the second unit essentially helps to offset the mortgage rather than earn money.

My background is in Finance, but not specifically real estate per se. My original long term goal was essentially to retire from my 9-5 job in 15 years time making enough to have a comfortable lifestyle on income from mutual funds and stocks (I'm slightly ahead of target on this front) but believe I can shorten this to (at most) 9 years if I add real estate into the mix. I'm primarily interested in a buy-and-hold strategy for 2 and 3 family dwellings.

It's nice to meet everyone!

Mike - You've got yourself a good strategy there. Buy and hold is a relatively low risk plan if you've got the right properties. Good luck and welcome to the site!

Free eBook from BiggerPockets!

Ultimate Beginner's Guide Book Cover

Join BiggerPockets and get The Ultimate Beginner's Guide to Real Estate Investing for FREE - read by more than 100,000 people - AND get exclusive real estate investing tips, tricks and techniques delivered straight to your inbox twice weekly!

  • Actionable advice for getting started,
  • Discover the 10 Most Lucrative Real Estate Niches,
  • Learn how to get started with or without money,
  • Explore Real-Life Strategies for Building Wealth,
  • And a LOT more.

We hate spam just as much as you