Newbie in Suffolk County, NY

17 Replies

Hi my name is Christian Barroso, I am in Suffolk County, Long Island, NY.  I am a cook in a restaurant in a hotel.

I am very new to real estate, I have no properties yet. I have watched a few webinars and read many articles and blog posts on Bigger Pockets. My goal is to get into rentals and become a landlord in Long Island, preferably Suffolk County.

I plan on buying my first property this year and hope I can get a lot of advice from the Bigger Pockets forum.  Are there any people here from Long Island who can give me their opinions on rental investing in Long Island?  I have found a lot of rental listings online but I have difficulty finding worthwhile properties for sale.

I want to use an FHA loan to purchase my first property. Would that be a good idea? Properties on Long Island are very expensive.

Congratulations Christian, very exciting to be entering the real estate world.  I live in islip but I don’t invest in New York.  The taxes are far too high and the cap rates are too low.  Ohio, texas, Kansas, Indiana are all far better with much lower prices and much easier entry points.  Good luck

JJ

I've read and considered long distance investing but I am hesitant to do so.  I don't have any experience and I don't want to make a serious mistake in my first investment, especially if I am unable to be there and handle it in person.

Hi @Christian B. , I would recommend continuing to self educate yourself thru the BP Podcast and ones similar to it. As well as picking up books like David Greene's 'Long Distance Real Estate Investing". I am new to RE investing as well but have gained more confidence/knowledge to make the leap, due to a continuance in self-educating myself. Good luck on the RE journey. 

Hi Christian,