Managing Properties from far away

7 Replies

i am considering making an investment on a property on the other side of the state or in another state altogether. Does anyone have any experience managing properties from far away? Also, you never know what the future holds - lets say i move to CA in 10 years and i have an investment property in CT. For those of you who successfully manage properties far away, what do you advise? What if you have a problem with the tenant? what if you have a major problem with the property? do you employ a manager or management company? If so, what do they typically charge?

Hi @Edward Schenkel , I am a property manager here in Connecticut, and a lot of our clients are folks who may have purchased a house in CT while they lived here, but then at some point moved out, and rented all of the units. That being said, we now have owners as far away as Texas! We handle the day to day operations of home ownership, including: paying the mortgage, insurance, etc., fielding tenant calls for repairs, filling vacancies, overseeing repairs, etc. We charge a flat 10% of gross rents and do not mark up any repairs.

Every month we issue a financial report and walk the property, even if there are no issues reported. We like to make sure the tenants see us so they know someone is keeping an eye on the property. Visibility matters :)

Let me know if you have any questions!

Filipe 

@Edward Schenkel Prevailing costs and terms for PM are highly localized. I pay 10% of gross rents but if I moved 30 miles in either direction (where I invest) I'd be at 12% or 8%. The market is the market.