Am I going about this the wrong way?

5 Replies

Looking to get started investing in real estate. Interested in flipping. I've been looking at foreclosure properties Hartford and Tolland County. Since I'm new to this it's hard for me to accurately estimate how much renovations will cost and how much a property might actually sell for. But everything I've seen seems priced where once it's purchased and renovated there is little room if any for profit. I doubt banks are going to come down on price by $30k but that's what it seems like they would have to do for a profit to be made. Maybe foreclosure properties aren't the best way to get started?

Hi Charissa,

You are definitely right; most of the properties for sale out there are not deals, whether or not they are foreclosures. To find a good deal, you will most likely have to do some leg work to beat out other investors also searching in your area. 

A few suggestions; 

• It may be better to find properties that are in pre-foreclosure, that way you can try to work with the current owner to make a favorable deal rather than working with a bank. 
  • Drive/walk the neighborhood to find properties that look vacant/unkempt and do a little research to find out who the owner is and see if they can be interested in selling. You may be surprised and an absentee owner of a vacant property may be willing to get rid of their property to you for below market value.
  • Keep researching how much rehabs will cost so you can be equipped to quickly analyze properties that come your way.  

Best of luck!

Yes you are going at it the wrong way.

It's like you are trying to find an orange tree in Canada.

They don't belong there! Finding a crazy homerun deal on MLS is not going to happen (often/at all/ever?).

You need to find leads where no one has access to them. The only way to do that is to think. Be smarter than your competitors and work more efficient.

If it was easy everyone would be rich.. or no one would be.