Miami vs Tampa Multi-Family Real Estate

6 Replies

Hi I am looking to get into commercial real estate in Florida and looking at the Tampa and Miami areas. Tampa tends to have better cap rates on LoopNet and Miami tends to have more job postings on indeed, although there are opportunities in both. I am new to real estate so I still have a lot to learn but it definitely makes sense that the better the property the more likely there will be a buyer and Tampa tends to have better cap rates. However Miami has less barriers to entry which is a criteria that some investors look for. It's tough to choose between the two. 

@Glenn Gayet this market is going to be tough to break into. I think both are viable options, personally as a Tampa native I think there is so much going on here and growth to be had that Tampa would be a better bet. Tampa is still an unknown gem compared to other bigger areas. We'd be interested in seeing if you are a fit as we are starting acquisitions of apartments and self storage facilities. Are you moving down here just to start a new career?

@jeremy kloter

I’d be moving down there to essentially start my career period. I was playing hockey in Minnesota for a while and on my way back I took a road trip through quite a number of cities including Tampa and Tampa was by far my favorite. There’s the Bay on the one side and the Ocean on the other, plus the Tampa Bay Lightning there doesn’t hurt either. I have a position with a brokerage that does rentals, property management, and commercial down in Tampa when ever I get down there and am taking my Florida Real estate licensing requirements online. I already have my NJ license but I don’t see the point of starting in a place that I’m looking to leave. I’d be interested to learn more about your real estate investment firm!