Flip or Buy and hold?

8 Replies

Hi dear community,

I'm a rookie out-of-state investor in a middle of a dilemma with myself, I've got my first proprety in port st lucie refinanced and was able to pull out 50k for the next move. Now, I've got my agent bringing me mls houses, but the numbers are not matching my excpectation (1% rule)

Now, I'll be staying for a month, so I'm telling myself I should try to partner on a rehab project. I know is always coming back to the question ''what are my goals" It's buy & holds (MF is the goal), but I'll like to build some cash aswell to get there.

what do you guys think??

Regards

Louis

from one rookie to another, stick to your plan!  Everything looks good when it’s on the other side of the fence but upon closer examination you usually find an unexpected issue that you didn’t plan for or have never really given any thought.  Buy and hold for passive income is so much different than flipping, one is fairly passive once the property is stabilized and provides ongoing income, the other is a job - find it, buy it, rehab it, sell it, REPEAT.

Tell your realtor what you are really looking for instead of them just trying to find you their next commission!

While it might be worthwhile to broaden your horizons and make some fast cash I would wait until you have your buy and hold niche down. I have heard this called the shiny object syndrome and occasionally suffer from it myself. If you really look at all the new stuff you would have to learn and all the effort that would have to go into a flip especially as a first deal that will seriously detract from your buy and hold investing.

Also consider this, generally if I look at a possible buy and hold I often think I wouldn’t need as good as a deal as for a flip or wholesale. If you can’t find a 1% deal will you be able to find a deal that will make a good flip? And if you can find a deal that would make a good flip why not BRRR it and add it to your portfolio.