What can I do to obtain my money back

10 Replies

Good day,

I'm new to this and need suggestions. I am a landlord and I renting a property to a couple about 2 yrs ago, everything was fine at the beginning and they were paying their rent on time. But everything changed about a year ago when they started to slack and pay late and now they have not paid any rent in the last 9 months. What can I do? I don't want to take them to court because I don't have time for that. 

What do you guys suggest?

Are the tenants still living on the premises? If not, you can contact a collection agency ad have them go after the renters. I did business with Accounts Receivable for a similar situation and they came to a settlement with the renter for me. They got the job done. AccountsReceivable.com 

If you give them a call, inquire about their affiliate program. It's great because you get commissions off of the people you refer. http://accountsreceivable.postaffiliatepro.com/affiliates/signup.php?a_aid=5a81a5bfab60b

Hope this helps

Eviction will be your Quickest route to get them out and start receiving rent from a new tenant. Obviously, you should have done this months ago. You can get a judgment along with the eviction, but that’s probably not worth much.

Hey @Rosa Hopkins ,

Landlord laws are governed by the state the property is located, there is a plethora of information online once we know where the property is located. 

As it stands, you're essentially paying them to occupy your property. You pay the taxes and insurance and maintenance costs, and a profitable investment pays you to own it.

At the moment, you have 3 options.

1. Ask them nicely to pay you their 9 months of late rent
  2. Initiate the eviction process and make time for getting them out
  3. Do nothing and ignore their delinquency

@Michael Tempel is a professional Property Manager in my hometown Minneapolis, Minnesota. He's a great resource and could help provide some input to your situation.