Investing in Tallahassee Real Estate

4 Replies

Hi All,

I am new to the real estate market and figured its time to grow up and start investing. I was in Tallahassee FL a couple of times this year and felt like there is potential to invest in some real estate there. I have done research and concluded that the city is improving in a number of different categories (crime, housing, job market & health).

I am thinking of purchasing vacant lots around Tallahassee and building a number of units ranging from town-homes, triplex, and office space. I have the cash flow available to get started 

Do you think Tallahassee is the right market this time around. I was hoping to get some insight and/or tips 

If you have any recommendation that would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks  

Highest violent crime rate in the entire state, 5 years running. Tallahassee averages 1.4 rapes a day. 

32304 is the poorest zip code in Florida.

Good luck finding contractors after a hurricane.

Having lived there, Tallahassee does have its setbacks like @Farhood B. said.  It is up and coming, knowing your areas will help you immensely to avoid the troubled parts.  Id stick to the eastern side of the city and avoid college town and pretty much anything west of it.   That said I do think it would be a great area to invest, how that is, is up to you.