Property Management Cost in Atlanta Area

10 Replies

Hey guys I am new to Atlanta and looking to buy a duplex in the next few months around the area. I was wondering what the average cost for property management is in Atlanta so I can factor it into my property analysis? 

Let me know what you guys think and if you have any recommendations for me. 

It is very dependent on area and rental rates. The bigger outfits charge 8-12% on income plus 1 month rent for new tenants plus a mark up for repairs. There is usually a fee for lease renewals and I have seen several firms keep all late fees collected.

Thanks Stan! So on a small duplex with lets say rental income of 2 grand, I can expect the management fee to be around 200-300 a month right?

I would recommend you do it yourself, it can really understand and learn the business of owning investment real estate. If you wanna talk I can give you some other pointers I've owned rental real estate in Atlanta metro since 2004.

It's a case by case basis for me. I would likely be somewhere south of $165, depending on the asset location and condition. 

@Mason Mccullough

1st months rent for leasing fee is pretty typical throughout Atlanta.

8%-10% monthly mgmt fee is typical throughout Atlanta. If your duplex is in a bad area then expect it to be on the 10% side.

In my opinion you should only be hiring a NARPM credentialed property manager so you avoid the pretenders and wanna-be managers.  You want someone with LOTS of experience and who does management full time and not as a side line to real estate sales.

If you need further assistance then PM me.