Advice on real estate market

13 Replies

Hello Idahoans!,

I'm a newbie investor to the great state of Idaho. Need your advice on the Real Estate market in the Treasure Valley. Most of the properties on Zillow, Trulia and Realtor.com seem to be a poor deal and gone quickly e.g 2 properties I analyzed using BP rental calculator had cash flow of $200 to $300 as a pure rental. I'm looking to buy and hold rental properties but I would prefer house hacking. 

Would you say its time to look elsewhere for good deals? (e.g. Idaho Falls, Pocatello, Caldwell?)

Anyone know if Pocatello is a good place for buy n hold rentals? What about Caldwell?

I analyzed one 4plex in Pocatello which gave me a cash flow of $500, but I stay about 4 hours away, so I will have to hire property management. I'm just not feeling confident right now investing in the Treasure Valley seeing prices that seem excessive, but still gone in a week.

Hoping to hear from people who have much more experience than me. I'd be grateful for any feedback

@Ajay A. I invest in a number of areas in Idaho.  More specifically Pocatello, Idaho Falls, Caldwell, Nampa, Meridian, Boise, Mountain Home and Eagle.  I live in Utah but started investing in Idaho because income property is going for about half of what I would pay here.  I have wholesaled 18 or so multi-family properties in Pocatello alone over the last 14 months.