How to research title in idaho

9 Replies

Can someone tell me if there is an online registry of deeds for idaho? I would like to research the title of a few properties.

Thank you

Rich, you could reach out to any title company here.  As an agent, I have access to their property reports.  If you don't want to reach out to them, I can pull the reports for you and email them to you.  PM with the addresses and I'll send you their property reports.

Hi @Rich Hupper - I echo what Jeff said. I know things work differently across states. As an FYI, Idaho is a non-disclosure state when it comes to sale prices, not sure if Massachusetts is the same. We of course see them on the MLS. Have a great day!

@Jonna Weber non disclosure state? I am unfamiliar with this. I thought all deeds needed to list the consideration. My state every deed has purchase price on it even if it was just 1 dollar. 

@Jeff Kessel what about tax assessor records. Don't the towns know what the properties sell for?  I am use to doing basic title searches on my own from my computer. Everything is digitized here and made public. 

What about mortgages they must get recorded? Is the mortgage amount made public?

@Rich Hupper you can go to the county assessors sites and get a little information.  If you want deeds, we need to get those from a title company.  They give assess to agents through an account they can create, which is why the info is easy for me to get for you.  Jonna is correct, we are a non-disclosure state meaning that we do not have to disclose the sale price to the county.  County has to do their own assessment of the property value for tax purposes.  It's all digitized here as well, I just only know the way that I would get the info and not the way the general public would get it.  Here to help any way I can.