Texas investor looking to invest in Chicago

18 Replies

Hello,

I'm an investor located in Texas and I'm interested in branching out to the Chicago area. Can anyone recommend agents, contractors, property managers, and lenders that specialize in that area?

Thanks.

Hi Joel,

I'm a short sale agent in IL, newbie investor and I'd be happy to share my info on the area.  I'm out in the Chicagoland suburbs, however, not in the city itself, so my connections run to that side of the business.  I also coordinate a Meetup group for investors to network and find business partners.  You can connect with me on BP anytime.

Cheers!

Joel,

I am interested why you wish to invest in Chicago. I am a Texas transplant and am considering just the opposite. Property values are rising at above average rates in Texas and below average here due to our weak economic climate.

I would ask the same question. I guess my thoughts would be:

1) The chicagoland area and illinois has super high taxes (3 to 4% of the assessed in most of the chicagoland suburbs).  The mayor of chicago is pushing through one of the largest property tax hikes the city has ever seen in history. And both the city and the state have one of the most underfunded pension liabilities in the entire country as a state and a city.

Thats not typically the type of 1-2 punch people would look at when choosing which state to invest in.

2) On the plus side. The numbers for rentals here do seem to work pretty good. And I also believe the competition in Texas is extremely crowded. Not that some areas up here aren't difficult too. But I think down there it seems there is just a lot more competition.

Down here, you can buy homes in the suburbs that are worth 140k to 150k and rent them out for 1350 to 1,400. Which means if you get them at a reasonable discount, you can be all in at 100k to 110k on those.  Not bad.