Melrose Park: Would you invest? Or you already do?

14 Replies

Good evening dear members!

I am fairly new to REI and looking into Melrose Park as a potential investment area for a multi family. It sounds to be much safer compares to Maywood and Bellwood neighborhoods where they still have few Latino gangs (from conversation with Police officer). It also seems to be C class area from what i can see from here.

Please correct me if i wrong and i would appreciate any info regarding this area as your home or an investment area.

I live in Melrose Park.  It’s a good area to invest. But I have seen the prices soar. I have not found anything at a good price.  Lost of “ok “ deals. But if u can find the asset at a price that makes sense I say go for it. 

Sergii, as the posters above said, it is an OK area. Prices are rising throughout much of Chicagoland. I manage properties for other investors (and myself) from far south suburbs to far north suburbs. Would be happy to share thoughts on anything. Why are you focused on Melrose Park? What kind of numbers are you looking for? Adam

Hey @Adam St James , and thanks for response! I chose Melrose Park just because i found a good deal in a decent area. I'm open to go different location but as long as it is at list decent C class. I'm kind of scared of going far south(low demand and a lots of gangs depending on the area), or north(far away from all would also bring a low demand).

Could you please share your experience on location to invest? 

Sergii, 

Looks like a decent place, but I'd have to run comps to see how it really stacks up (I'm a Realtor). Both units are vacant, no rent coming in. What were the rents you were expecting? 

$175K is a lot of money. For that kind of money ou could buy and rehab two or three single family homes in some of the 'burbs such as Oak Lawn, Midlothian, Country Club Hills, Homewood, Bolingbrook, Romeoville, etc, and end up with $300 to $500 per month cash flow...