Looking for a great PM for an apartment in KC

13 Replies

Hi All, 

Can I get some recomendations for good property managers in Kansas City? I have a possible apartment deal comng down the line and I want to have a team ready to take over if it happens. 

Big Thanks. 

Hi! I'm a newbie, so I don't have experience with them personally.. but I just did a phone interview today of A1 Properties KC (www.a1propertieskc.com), and they were awesome. Someone here on BP recommended them to me, and I'm appreciative. See if they can do what you're looking for. The girl I spoke with is named Stephanie, and she was SO helpful! Good luck! 

Hi @Jeb Brilliant -- our company used to use A-1 up until recently.  I'm indifferent to what you decide to do, and of course you should speak with them before making a decision, but we've had a few clients that have had a poor experience recently because of poor communication.  That's my pet peeve. 

ASIDE from that, be sure you talk to a property manager that specializes in working with apartments.  They are a different animal than 1-4 unit residential properties.  Until you've had experience with apartments and their tenants you won't realize the difference.

Talk to an apartment management company.

Continued success!

@Sara Hodge

I used A1 for leasing up my KC SFRs a couple of times.  They did a great job at first.  The last time, however, the communication was horrible and I never received all of the paperwork that the tenants had supposedly signed off on, so I won't be using them again.

I believe they let a bunch of people go while my last house was up for rent, so they were having some issues.  This was about a year ago, so maybe they have worked things out by now, don't know.