New Orleans Adjudicated Property Auction Questions

7 Replies

Hey everyone, I am a real estate agent in New Orleans, but I am relatively new to the investing side of things, so I am hoping that someone can help me understand this particular topic a bit better...

I am looking to invest in adjudicated properties in New Orleans through CivicSource, which I understand is supposed to be safer than investing in tax certificates or liens, since the adjudicated properties are advertised as being sold with clear title and title insurance.

I've read quite a few negative articles from around the time the city starting using CivicSource back in 2015, so I'm wondering if anyone has any recent positive experience with this type of investing? Are adjudicated property investments really as "safe" as CivicSource and the city advertise them to be?

Any input is greatly appreciated!

One of my attorneys does the due diligence and title insurance examination for Civicsource. IIRC civic source is self insuring the title on these properties, but the vetting meets the best practice requirements for ALTA.

Hey @Cory Cheramie . I know several investors and builders that have had nothing but issues with properties bought through CivicSource. Everyone I know says to stay away from them. Yes, they claim the properties will have clear title but it seems it doesn't work out that way in actuality. 

Hey @Braden Smith , thanks for the input. Like I said, almost all of the feedback I've heard about Civicsource is negative, so that's pretty telling. Since I'm new to real estate investing, I liked the idea of adjudicated property investing because it would allow me to start small, with limited funds. But it seems I may need to explore other options...