Baltimore native looking for first deal and mentor

10 Replies

Happy New Year everyone. I've been on BP for a while doing my research. One of my resolutions is to buy my first deal in 2018. Does anyone know a local REIA in the Towson area or an investor looking for help on managing properties. I am a finance professional and am willing to do some physical labor or other services in exchange for mentoring. Thanks guys any info or tips would help.

Mid-Atlantic REIA ... MAREIA is a most excellent resource

mareia.com

@Andre Mudiay Happy New Year!!  I really like a group called Rehabber Pro Baltimore!  You can find them on meetup.  They meet once a month usually at a location of a project that is being worked on and the cost is Free!  Hope to see you around!

@Andre Mudiay welcome to BP. The only group I know that meets in Towson is the Baltimore REIA already mentioned. I wouldn't limit myself to Towson as there are a lot of groups in the area. Certainly the Baltimore REIA is a good one. you can find others by searching REIA or Meetup.

@Andre Mudiay Congratulations on setting that goal! This is really important to get you going!

I've been to a few MeetUp with Baltimore REIA, and there are a few you can search for on the MeetUp app. 

More importantly, I think it's absolutely important to figure out what your investment personality is? What do you like doing? Are you sure you like physical labour or the thrill or like closing a wholesale deal? These are pertinent questions. 

Now, you may ask: how do I know what I like and what I don't like? 

1. Start  reading Real Estate books (perhaps start with Rich Dad Poor Dad
  2. Talk to a variety of Real Estate investors (wholesaler, rehabbers, syndicators etc)
  3. Truly give away your time to an investor who needs help in your market

Lastly, you mentioned you are a finance professional, so you want to start thinking about how to balance your day job with your real estate activities