Steps and costs to start a Real Estate Brokerage?

10 Replies

Hi Bigger Pockets Community,

I'm a licensed MA broke. I've been a licensed RE sales person since 2004 and I am now a licensed attorney so I have my broker's licenses as a result. I am wondering what are the steps, process and cost to open a brokerage. I know I should start an LLC which will cost somewhere north of $500. What else would I need and what are the costs?

Thanks!!!

Office space, e&o insurance, general business liability insurance, equipment, staff, operating capital, contract with your local MLS.

To give you an idea, most franchises require you to have about $250k in working capital to start up.

@Russell Brazil I plan to do it no frills. Right now I'm at a brokerage that gives me 90% of commissions. I'm an investor/flipper as well. If basic startup costs LLC, E&O, Liability insurance, other brokerage fees/costs (trying to find out what these might be) is less than 1 or 2 Gs it might be worth it o open my own brokerage. If I sell 2 or 3 house per year (whether my own flips or taking sales clients) I'd make back my money and then sum. I'm just not sure how much it would cost so I am not sure it is worth it.

Lots of small costs that really add up - LLC/legal, accounting, marketing, website, dues, etc, and if you're going to bring on other agents it all gets more complex. I made a similar decision and am glad that I did but if I was only doing a couple deals a year it wouldn't have made sense. Feel free to PM me. I also have a couple of options that are appealing to agent/investors if you're interested in other possibilities.

@An Duong Are you recruiting? If so, you will spend time herding cats unless you make your service compelling. You will worry about things you didn't know you ever had to worry about. I can't think of anything specific because there are so many little things that pop up all the time. Your individual productivity, if you're being a good broker, will drop.

Hi An,