Financing question for Massachusetts Multi-Family Investors

8 Replies

Hi everyone,

I'm new to real estate investing and my local market is Boston, MA (don't even get me started on prices here).

I plan on living in the house and using a residential mortgage. For cash flow purposes, I would like to buy a property with as many units as possible. 

Given how much more advantageous residential mortgage terms are, I would like to stick with one and avoid a commercial loan. 

Some local real estate agents have told me that 4 or more qualifies as commercial in MA, but others have said it's 5 or more like the standard for the rest of the country.

Does anyone have experience in this market that can tell me which it is? 

Thanks for the help!

Michael 

@Michael Bronson  

Welcome to BP Michael! I recently moved to Boston from the mid-west and prices here are crazy to say the least. I "househacked" my first property as well (in louisville) and the previous two messages are correct. 

4 units is the max that you can get with a residential loan and would be the best financing for what you're trying to do. 

@Michael Bronson   Welcome to BP!  

Before you jump in to MFR investing here, you might want to read up on landlord/tenant laws in MA. They are wildly biased in favor of the tenant.

In fact a "professional tenant" can tie you up for a year without paying a dime in rent.  That said, thousands of landlords do it successfully.

Just educate yourself and proceed with caution.