Tying to sell and my house is on the neighbors property - MN

17 Replies

I purchased this property in 2011 from a bank as a foreclosure. It is in the country and has a couple acres. I lived in it for a couple of years and then rented it for the last 5. This year I decided to sell, so I fixed it up, put it on the market, and got an offer. The only thing the guy wanted was a survey so I figured, why not? Well, that opened up a big can of worms. According to the survey, the house, the buildings, the driveway, the septic, all of it is on the neighbors land. I've talked to my title person, county assessor, real estate attorney, and any body else I think may know what to do, and no one has been able to give me any advice that I can act on. I'm going to lose this sale if I can't get this straightened out. Do any of you in MN know what actions need to be taken to get this straightened out?

I'm not an expert, but I don't think there is much you can do. Is the neighbor aware of the situation? Maybe they'd be willing to sell a portion of their property to you. If so, you could do a lot line adjustment. I would consult with the real estate attorney about this as an option.

Around 25 years ago, I knew someone who owned a building (shed), a few mini storage units on a lot in a town. The neighbor somehow learned the property line was 20 ft over into my friends property. One day they showed up with a missing storage unit...taken down courtesy of the neighbor. 

Their attorney said something about if there hasn't been any dispute over property lines for 15 years then it's considered grandfathered in. There was a wire fence grown into trees of what anyone would think would be the property line. However the previous owner of the property was friends with the neighbors and testified there was a dispute.