Have to be a licensed contractor to Flip?

13 Replies

I am confused now. I have been a buy and hold investor for a while but I am at the tail end of my first flip.

All plumbing, electrical and mechanical (HAVC) I have had licensed contractors doing the work. I have been by the book and getting the right permits.  The rest (painting, trim, tile, cabinets) I have been doing the work myself, or with my own team.

I am doing final plumbing inspection and the Plumbing inspector is telling me that I am not allowed to do ANY work my self since I don't live here. He is trying to tell me I'm not allowed to put the tile in the bathroom. Or even do the trim unless I am a licensed contractor.

He even called the township code office to tell them I am doing this.... He is giving me a "PASS" this one time but next time all work on a house I don't live in has to be done by a Contractor.  I own the house, I just don't live there and I am not paying myself to do the work.

I have looked in to becoming a contractor in NJ in the past.  The only official rule was if I was getting paid more than $600 per job then I needed to be a contractor.

Now I have been told this inspector is just out for blood on every job he goes too.  He states this is a NJ law not a town law. 

Looking for guidance and what others have experienced.

PS. What set this off is he said I need a building inspection for them to look at the tile in the bathroom. But there is no need to pull a permit for the tile job why would an inspector come out.   This was just a surface remodel.

They want their pound of flesh or as they say permit money. Had these few weeks back. Tile man was ready to come in. Forgot to get ask my plumber to get the permits for all his work and ended up pushing back tile man 1 week until inspection. Good luck JP