House Hacking in New Jersey

18 Replies

Hi, My name is Aditya Puttigampala and I'm new to the Bigger Pockets community. I'm looking to house hack a multi-family home in New Jersey. I'm currently looking at Hoboken, Union City, Bayonne, and other parts of Jersey City. My goal is to break even with my cash flows so that I won't be paying anything in rent, while living in one of the units. Does anyone have experience house hacking or buying property and renting out units in these areas? I'm looking for some advice on how feasible it is to invest in these areas and how I can narrow my search down. Appreciate the help! :) 

House prices in those areas are absolutely absurd. I suggest looking for a distressed property that needs work, so you can fix it up and rent it for market. Hopefully this comes out to be a more of a bargain...

HI Aditya,

I have house-hacked a multi unit in Newark, NJ utilizing a FHA loan. I would look into a FHA 203k loan, which allows you to buy a property that needs repair and the cost of the repair be wrapped into your mortgage. I'll send you a PM so we can connect.

@Aditya Puttigampala as some said, it's unlikely to find that in Hoboken or jersey city. I would look into union city and Bayonne. As far as break even, what is your definition of that? Does that include cap ex, small repairs, etc?

It really depends on how much capital you are going to spend.  Both Union City and West NY and North Bergen are great areas.  Work with a reputable real estate agent to get you listings with current tenants so you can do the math.  I've actually just recently seen a 4-family in Jersey City (Grenville area ) that was generating positive cash flow.  

@Johnathan Boyle Thanks for responding. When I say break-even I'm including all expenses like mortgage, cap ex, water/garbage etc and deducting from my rental income. My goal is to have a positive net income but I am more than happy to at least live for free or significantly reduce my rent expense.