Starting from Scratch in South Jersey, New to Bigger Pockets

7 Replies

Hello BP community,

My name is KJ Kulik and I am a recent 2017 graduate from the University of Rhode Island. I currently work in Voorhees, NJ and commute from home in Moorestown, NJ. Although this situation is favorable for now, I hope to move out in the near future and explore opportunities purchasing my first property (hopefully a house-hack situation). Was hoping for some insight into the area around me (South Jersey/Greater Philadelphia) as I am torn between saving up to buy my first property in the city, or buy local and more reasonably. Wondering if there is good cash flow in any of the areas nearest to me (Medford, Mt. Laurel, Cherry Hill, Haddonfield).

A second topic I would appreciate some advice on, is how to best combat student loan debt when attempting to enter the real estate industry. Obviously no debt would have been the preferred route, but as it so happens (as I'm sure it has happened to some of you) I am stuck with a fairly significant amount of "good" fixed/low interest debt. Wondering if the important thing for someone in my situation is to focus on paying this all off and getting back to zero, or if it could be beneficial for me to save towards that first purchase, while taking longer to attack my loans. 

Really just looking to connect with a bunch of you in the NJ/PA area and form relationships as I go. Please reach out with any pointers you might have for a newbie living at home in South Jersey. Thank you all and I look forward to being a part of the team!

Hey KJ! Welcome to South Jersey.