Salem County New Jersey investing in rental properties

8 Replies

Hey guys,

I'm new to bigger pockets and was wondering if it's worth investing in rental properties is Salem County, NJ? This is where I live so I was thinking it'd be a good place to start. 

My only problem is that I work in the construction industry in Delaware and I notice that droves of people from NJ are leaving the state because of taxes. While my investment may work out in the short term, I'm worried that in the long run people will continue to leave the state and my investment's value will go down. 

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks,

Jimmy

Hey @Jimmy Boyle , I am a firm believer in that if the deal is right, than a great investment can be found anywhere. That being said, I think you answered your own question. Why not invest in Delaware where you know the construction code, can improve property and you know people are moving to? If I lived in your area, that would definitely be a route I would explore. That being said, I don't think NJ is dying any time soon, I am up in Somerset County where taxes are nuts and I am definitely continuing to invest, about to buy my 4th deal (fingers crossed it gets accepted!)

Hope this helps, best of luck!

Robert Webb

@Mike Bonadies can chime in on his experiences in Salem County. Regarding Delaware that's my wheelhouse. Definitely a lot of opportunity in Delaware. Non-farming job growth numbers are slightly outpacing the population change at 1.3% vs ~0.9% so that's generally a good sign. While NJ may have growth (I didn't look up the same number) You're probably not going to see whatever the State averages are in Salem County. That being said...I agree that NJ wont go away. It's called the Garden State for a reason and all those farms in Salem County get boat loads of money from the state to stay operating.