New York Professional Looking to Start Investing

14 Replies

Hi All,

By way of introduction, my name is Andrew D Reyes. I am a NYS CPA/Tax Consultant at a Big 4 accounting firm in NYC. I work exclusively in the Real Estate Industry currently and I am looking to start investing in Core+/Value-Add residential properties in the NYC Metro area.

From listening to the BP podcasts and reading books/articles, I believe that C+/B- properties near growing cities would be the best target for my goal of generating passive income and building wealth through capital appreciation.

I have limited funds currently, but may be able to raise cash from friends/family if I find a deal.

A few questions to this group:

1. Any suggestions for target markets?

2. Any suggestions for brokers/property managers/contractors in NY, CT, NJ, or PA? Any other states I should consider?

3. Any deals you recently closed or are working on currently that you are willing to share the details? I am looking to analyse more deals.

Any other suggestions or like-minded individuals looking to connect, please reach out or reply to this post.

Best,

Andrew

@Andrew Reyes

welcome...

My first question would be:

What are your goals? I understand that you are looking for rentals, but do you know what your cash on cash returns and ROI % minimums would be at? Like no less than $300 per month minimum positive cash return and no less than 8% ROI as an example... Also, number of units you want to acquire year 1, by year 5, by year 10?

Most people throw out a wide net and then have a hard time finding anything. 

Do you want to look for single family, duplexes, 5 family and above, mixed use?

Do you plan to do any rehab on your own or hire people?

This post has been removed.