Mobile home park investing.

31 Replies

Hey guys, 

I was curious about investing in a mobile home park in NC/SC area. I am new to real-estate investing and I'm looking at MHP's to start investing in. I work full time so I'm looking for something that I can jump into with lower maintenance issues and not having to worry too much about toilet calls in the middle of the night, or leaking roofs. If I understand correctly, any park owned homes will by my responsibility to manage and maintenance. It seems that MHP are a good fit for my job and my personally available hours. I am also interested in where to find financing for mobile home parks. If you all have any suggestions or advice, I would be very grateful to hear them. Thank you for your time. 

@Dylan McClung Full disclaimer: I have never bought a MHP or even an individual mobile home. I'm passively looking for one, but nothing yet.

That being said, I think a MHP is an excellent investment to consider. Because you work full time you will want to focus on parks that are only renting the lots and do not own the homes themselves. That way your responsibilities shrink significantly.

@Paul Smythe Thanks for your reply. That's what I was thinking from the research that I've done so far. Obviously no property is ever void of responsibilities, but I believe MHP is a good choice so far.

Yes, you're correct. Any park owned homes will be your responsibility to maintain and manage. Those who own their own homes in the park should take care of them while you maintain the infrastructure and upkeep of the community. Hope that helps! 

Multiple MH Park owner here. Been in the business for 25+ years. 

Happy to answer any questions, but let me give you one piece of advice: Get rid of the park owned homes. 

Why?

The overriding reason to own and operate MH Parks is to just be renting out the dirt. That's why investors such as myself purchase them and not apartment complexes. You can't hurt dirt.