Starting a Property Management Company

7 Replies

Hello everyone, 

I am currently studying to get my real estate license in North Carolina and will hopefully be licensed in January. I want to start a property management company after I am fully licensed. What is the best strategy to getting your first property to manage? Is there anything that I can do now to prepare myself. What are the best networking organizations to join?

Thank you!

@Ryan Manning Starting a business is not hard. Starting a successful business is a different story. I was reading an article recently about majority of PM companies not making it past 2 or 3 years.

I would recommend first working for a property management company as a licensed real estate professional to learn how it all works. You will also gain some connections that way so then you should not have issues being find by investors.

As an investor, when selecting a PM, due diligence is very important. I would not trust a company to manage my properties without proven track of successful records. I would want to know how well you screen the tenants and have good records showing that. I would want to know you can handle evictions in timely and professional manner and that you can maintain my properties to keep them profitable.

Good luck!

@Ryan Manning I'm guessing you Can't start a property management company as an agent, you usually have to be a broker.....and for good reason, if you have no experience you're going to make a lot of mistakes/missteps with other people's properties/money. You need to gain some management experience before you decide to go out on your own.

Understand, the education you get to get your license teaches you Nothing about the actual Business of real estate, mostly only some rules and regulations.